Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Password problem

by Howmu / October 5, 2006 9:29 AM PDT

I have been using my computer without a password for 2 years but recently a friend convinced me that I should be password protected. So I went into Control Panel > user settings and entered a password for myself. When I tried to log on the screen asked for my password and when I tried to type it in next to the flashing cursor,nothing was entered in the box and I could not access my XP Pro OS or anything else. I tried this several times with no success. I finally rebooted in safe mode and tried system restore to yesterday but still was asked for my password and it was not taken. I rebooted again in safe mode and this time went into Control panl> user settings and removed the password option. I can now access my computer normally.

My question is, did I do something wrong in setting my password (why wouldnt it type in?) and is there any way better that I should do this?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Password problem
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Password problem
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.