Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Partition of a Hard Drive? Why?

by MediaTechGuru / July 15, 2005 12:25 AM PDT

In search of the reason on why to partition a hard drive? I have a master drive to run OS and system files...a second drive for personal files and a 3rd to backup all files on second drive?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Partition of a Hard Drive? Why?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Partition of a Hard Drive? Why?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Partition drives...
by MarkinTO / July 15, 2005 3:26 PM PDT

The first reason, is to make doing drive maintenance faster!

The second, is splitting up software and data files,

The third, is backing up files & software,

The forth, Any version of Windows needs hard-drive space for 'virtual memory',

The fifth, to essentially back-up what's on the first drive!