Cameras forum

General discussion

Olympus Stylus 1010 - looking for good compact camera

I'm looking for a compact camera with image stabilization, good image quality & relative ease of use (I'm not a professional at all).

My Mom recently got the Olympus Stylus 1010. She likes it, but is unhappy with blurry images with close up shots. She even feels that the regular pics are slightly blurred. The other thing she dislikes is that the only way to take a picture is looking at the screen (no view finder thingee - whatever it's called - to look through). The problem is in high light, she can't see the screen & therefore can't see what she's taking a picture of.

I was going to get the Stylus 1010 until I heard the above. Does anyone have any info on the Olympus 1010?

And is there a different compact camera that might be better than the 1010? I'll be taking it to Africa next year.

Thanks so much,
Melissa

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Olympus Stylus 1010 - looking for good compact camera
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Olympus Stylus 1010 - looking for good compact camera
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.