Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Old Hard Drive

Hi there,

First off, I'm totally new to this whole computer thing, so simple language would be very much appreciated.

I have an old hard computer (about 5 years old, but hasn't been in use for 2 of those years) that used to run Windows 98. The computer still works, but I bought a new computer running Windows XP Home about 2 years ago. There is no information on the old computer that I need/want, but I would like to use it as extra space to store movies/music/photos/etc.

Is there a way that I can simply wipe the old hard drive and easily connect it to my current computer for extra data storage space? I read something about a 'slave drive' in another post, but have no idea what this means and if it would apply. My current computer has both a C: and a D: drive already.

If you need any more information about either computer, let me know. Thanks for the help!

Riley

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Old Hard Drive
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Old Hard Drive
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.