No, that's not entirely correct. The difference between an "upgrade" and a "full" copy is that an "upgrade" version requires you to provide proof of previous ownership of a qualifying copy of Windows. It also costs less than a full version as a 'bonus' to 'returning customers.'
Where the loss of previous programs, files, and settings comes in is where you perform a "clean installation" as opposed to an "upgrade installation." Both "full" and "upgrade" versions of Windows can be used to perform an "upgrade installation," so there's no worry there. However, I would get the upgrader's edition since you qualify and it costs $100+ less.
Now, when you perform an upgrade installation all of your files and programs and most of your settings should remain intact. Things that will be changed include:
* The default favorites will be added, in addition to yours, if you had deleted them previously.
* If you modified your uxtheme.dll file to use your own themes you'll have to do it again afterwards.
* The default shortcuts in the Start menu will be restored if you deleted them previously.
* If you disabled system services they will be re-enabled.
Basically anything you created will remain but some system settings you may have modified will be restored. It won't result in the loss of anything but you may have to tweak it to your liking again. The same things happen when you perform a repair installation.
It's always advisable that you have a backup of your files ready, just in case something goes wrong (during the upgrade or elsewhere during the use of the computer), but no major problems should be expected.
Hope this helps,
I've got a desktop PC I plan to upgrade from XP Home SP2 to XP Pro SP2. The PC has NTFS, 760 MB RAM and plenty of processor power & hard drive space.
I heard that the "upgrade" version of XP Pro can install right on top of XP Home, whereas this is not the case with XP Pro "full" version. Is this accurate?
If anyone could share on what are the things I need to watch out for during the upgrade, that would be great. Theoretically, it should go smoothly. But when does theory match reality? So your experience will help me avoid problems.
Is there some way to save and move my various configurations like my internet configurations, etc.? Which key configuration settings will the upgrade wipe out?
I presume I will not need to reload all my software. Is this true? Will some of my software get wiped out in the upgrade?
The main reason for the upgrade is XP Home does not provide folder password protection over a network.