Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Notebook is getting very slow

by tcyw20 / May 16, 2008 12:17 PM PDT

I have been using a IBM T43 notebook for about 3 years. Recently, I found it is performing very slowly, so slow that I want to reformat the drive again.

Is there any explanation for my notebook to get very slow after using for sometime. Is there any remedy to it?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Notebook is getting very slow
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Notebook is getting very slow
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Well
by Jimmy Greystone / May 16, 2008 12:43 PM PDT

Well, one common problem is people using Internet Explorer, or some IE based browser, along with not keeping up with the security patches issued by Microsoft. Then one little misstep onto a compromised site, and your system is now the newest host to all sorts of fun spyware/malware.