Samsung forum

Question

No sound with av receiver and samsung T220HD

by dunski1 / April 22, 2014 6:37 AM PDT

I am trying to set up external speakers via a cambridge audio azur 540R V3 for my Samsung synch master T220HD.

I see video via the video1 chanel on thje av receiver/synch master but sound only from the samsung.

Can anyone help. I tried disabling internal speakers on the samsung but then I have no sound.

I am using HDMI between set up box and receiver and TV and receiver.

Any advice appreciated ..

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: No sound with av receiver and samsung T220HD
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: No sound with av receiver and samsung T220HD
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Clarification Request
I can't see your connections.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / April 22, 2014 8:44 AM PDT
Collapse -
No sound with HDMI
by dunski1 / April 22, 2014 7:55 PM PDT
Collapse -
Depends on hookup.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / April 22, 2014 8:02 PM PDT
In reply to: No sound with HDMI

Draw it out like this.

Source -> what -> where.

HDMI could work but you know to go from source to receiver to HDTV. I can't guess how you want to set it up but optical from HDTV to a receiver is quick common.
Bob

Collapse -
My setup
by dunski1 / April 23, 2014 1:42 AM PDT
In reply to: Depends on hookup.

I have UPC (digital TV set top box) to AV receiver (with HDMI). Then HDMI from AV receiver to HDTV. This works for video but as I said not sound.

The manual advises to assign either anog or digital to the channels so I have assigned digital to video1 (where I see the video) but then if I set stereo, dolby or any sound option I have no sound.

Hope this is a little clearer ..

Collapse -
Ahh then the receiver is not doing its job.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / April 23, 2014 3:18 AM PDT
In reply to: My setup

Since the receiver is getting the HDMI before the HDTV it should strip and use the 2.x to 7.x sound and the HDTV is usually silent. Time to learn more about your receiver?

The problem with optical from the HDTV back to the receiver is that almost all the time it will only pass 2.1 sound if the source is HDMI. Sorry if I don't elaborate as that and why is all over the web.

http://www.cambridgeaudio.com/media/azur-540r-v3-technical-specifications-1358506748.pdf does show we can use this for the typical receiver functions but setup is beyond the scope of what I'll discuss here. Sorry about that, but it appears you may have the connections right but need to get support for the receiver.
Bob

Collapse -
Re - Ahh then the receiver is not doing its job.
by dunski1 / April 23, 2014 6:46 PM PDT

Thanks for your help bob, I will need to reseach a little more. I will update again when I get it working, could be helpfull for others ..

Popular Forums
icon
Computer Newbies 10,686 discussions
icon
Computer Help 54,365 discussions
icon
Laptops 21,181 discussions
icon
Networking & Wireless 16,313 discussions
icon
Phones 17,137 discussions
icon
Security 31,287 discussions
icon
TVs & Home Theaters 22,101 discussions
icon
Windows 7 8,164 discussions
icon
Windows 10 2,657 discussions

CNET FORUMS TOP DISCUSSION

Help, my PC with Windows 10 won't shut down properly

Since upgrading to Windows 10 my computer won't shut down properly. I use the menu button shutdown and the screen goes blank, but the system does not fully shut down. The only way to get it to shut down is to hold the physical power button down till it shuts down. Any suggestions?