HolidayBuyer's Guide

Windows Vista forum

Rant

No Sound in Laptop with Vista op system

by groovy3130 / June 3, 2011 7:18 AM PDT

My HP laptop lost the sound. When I noticed that my GOM player has no sound, I downloaded some free codecs but did not work. I decided to uninstall/reinstall GOM and codecs.
I did this several times and nothing seems to work. Then I noticed that there is no sound at all in my laptop not just GOM. I also have the Windows Media Player ... but all is quiet. I checked the Device Manager and sound card is working normally ... did not see any ? or ! anywhere. I am not a techie and don't know much about this current technology. That's why I am here to seek help. Thank you.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: No Sound in Laptop with Vista op system
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: No Sound in Laptop with Vista op system
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Three questions.
by Kees_B Forum moderator / June 3, 2011 7:45 AM PDT