Computer Help forum

no signs of power, idk what to do

by mycomputerwontwork / November 27, 2014 3:27 PM PST

*Please note this is my first build of which i built in late 2013 so I'm pretty new to this and until now it has been smooth sailing

My system has seemed to cease working ever since I cleaned it with a vacuum so I opened it up and tried to find out what was wrong. And i mean cease working as in no signs of power and keep in mind my motherboard had no LED on it to show it is recieving power. This was about 2-3 weeks ago and somehow I got to the conclusion that I should just RMA my motherboard and PSU. I was still under warranty and I thought it would probably do the trick. So weeks went by and I finally get my motherboard and PSU back. Gigabyte did not replace my motherboard but they did say it worked with multiple configurations. Corsair sent back a brand new PSU however. So I hooked everything up and guess what! It still shows no signs of power from simply pressing the power button on my case.

So now I decided to breadboard. Right now I only have my motherboard, CPU, and CPU fan hooked up. I have the 8pin and 24pin plugged into my motherboard and the switch on the back of the PSU is On. With some searching around the internet I found that if I put a paperclip on the metal pieces (corresponding to the same location on the 24pin on the underside of the motherboard) I can momentarily short the connection between the
Green and Black wire and make the fans do what appears to be a single rotation and then it goes back to showing no signs of power. I have also plugged in the Power Switch cable coming from my case to the motherboard so I can short those pins easier - now when I do this I touch the two metal pieces from the 24 pin with paper clip to start the fans and then I click the power button which makes the machine appear to start but the moment i take away the power clip from the green and black metal pieces it stops.