Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

No Color or Text in Add/Remove Box~ YIKES!

by ltfons / June 28, 2008 3:38 AM PDT

Hi all, and while I'm really not a newbie newbie, I thought this may be a good place to post this just in case someone else runs into the same trouble. So here goes.
PC Specs:
Dell XPS Gen.3 Desktop/P4-550(3.4Ghz)w/HT/Running Windows XP SP2+/1GB DDR2 @550MHz/256MB PCI Express x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out) ATI RADEON X800XT VIDEO CARD/160Sata HDD/DVD-Rom 16x's (Sony)/Samsung 48X CD-RW/Intel Pro 1000 Intergrated PCI NIC Card/19in M993 CRT Monitor/
Trend Micro Internet 2008 Suite w/Attached Trend Spyware Rootkit suite
CC Cleaner
jv16 Power Tools
Windows Media Player 10
IE 7 - Win. XP SP2+ upgraded for all needs
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 THX w/DVD Audio for Demision
I also connect to the net via TCP/IP.
When I go to my Control Panel/Add Remove function, it opens and then takes a sec or two to load all programs. Now this is is the issue, the Window for this function opens, but there is NO COLOR on the ad/remove frame, nor are there any words under the three (3) Function Boxes on the left side. The Icons are there, and if I click on them they do work. Luckly for me I know what each one does.
So gang, what do you think my problem is? I've scanned for malware, I'm clean! I've attempted to change the color settings with no luck. I've also uninstalled the Video Driver and tried a newer version, still no joy!I feel this may be just a case of wrong settings or drivers, as most software like Java, & Flash are all current.
I've been dealing with this for close to 8 months now and am unable to find a solution, so if anyone can assist I would greatly appreciate it.
Much thanx

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: No Color or Text in Add/Remove Box~ YIKES!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.