General discussion

Nikon D40 upgrade to D5000 vs D90???

Hi, I'm a point and shoot photographer, I basically live in "Auto" mode and know NOTHING about ISO, F-Stop, etc. but everywhere I go I have a camera in hand and love to take and share pictures. Someday I would like to know more, but don't have the time at this point to learn. The best move I ever made was from "Point & Shoot" to DSLR.

All that being said, I currently own the Nikon D40 and have used it for the past 3 years and love it, I have the 2 "kit" lenses (18-55 and 55-200) but almost always use the 18-200 AF-VR lens and aside from the "creep" issue, it has been a fantastic "walk around" lens. I also have a 70-300 AF-VR that I use for sporting events. I am looking to upgrade but not sure what my best choice is. I primarily take pictures of my kids and their sports. My daughter runs track, swims and plays soccer and my son plays soccer. Even with the 70-300 I have to do a significant amount of cropping to get the close up photos of them (I can be over 100M from them when taking a photo). By the time I crop enough to get the subject is close enough I can barely get a 4x6 print without getting a grainy picture.

The features I want are:

1. Rapid Fire (easily used and not defaulted back to different shooting mode each time the camera is turned off)
2. Ability to Crop pretty significantly without losing quality.
3. Ability to take hand held shots at an indoor pool (light challenged) at a distance without a flash (not permitted at indoor competitions) without getting grainy pictures
4. Ability to stop action without getting blur
5. Compatibility with my current lenses
6. I like the video option, but that's just a little "nice to have" as I realize the video quality on the DSLRs is not great.