Question

Nikon d3300 or Nikon D5300

Feb 8, 2016 7:50PM PST

I'm a beginner photographer who is looking to take a Diploma of photography course. I currently own an Olympus pen e-pm2 but feel I need to move up to at least an entry level dslr (and buy at least one decent lens). Due to budget contraints I'm looking to purchase either a nikon d3300 or a d5300 second-hand. Is it advisable to buy the camera body with the kit lens or to just look for the body and get a decent lens to match? If so what lens would you recommend and why? (not really interested in a zoom lens) Which of these two models would do the trick?

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Nikon d3300 or Nikon D5300
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Nikon d3300 or Nikon D5300
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Clarification Request
Why?
Feb 8, 2016 11:53PM PST

>"feel I need to move up to at least an entry level dslr"

Why? I shoot with everything from a cellphone (LG G4) to a point-and-shoot (Canon G7X) to an Olympus E-PL5 and Panasonic GH2 to Canon T4i (650D) and 70D DSLRs, and I rarely find myself limited by the camera. Most often it's the shooting situation that dictates my choice. So in what way(s) are you finding yourself limited by the E-PM2?