Video Cameras forum

General discussion

Newbie needs help picking out a camcorder!!!

by Powerpunk 5000 / September 10, 2008 4:57 AM PDT

Thanks for any help! Keep in mind I have very little knowledge of digital cameras and camcorders. I was looking at a specific camera (mentioned later) and wonder if it fits my needs:

Budget

Not looking to exceed 600 dollars.

Size

Fairly small, average camcorder size.

Features

I'm not too familiar with how important megapixels are. Perhaps some suggestions/explanations? I'd appreciate it.

Standard zoom should be good. Maybe a little extra.

Image/Video quality should be decent for making short movies (home and actual) within the 10-20 minute range.

Not really knowledgeable on shutter modes. Again, suggestions/explanations welcome.

General Usage

I'll use the camera mostly for youtube quality videos I will make. I plan on making home movies and short movie projects I'll be working on. I'd say about a 6 or 7 in quality if 10 is the very best. Maybe even a 5 will suffice for all I know. The resolution of the camcorder I have in mind is 720 x 480. Is that sound?

I more than likely won't make any big prints of stills, mostly just standard.

I plan on making a lot of videos indoors (in a fairly well-lit room)

I probably won't be making many action photos, but maybe every now and then.

Miscellaneous

Not sure brand-wise. I hear Sony is pretty good.

I actually have a camera in mind but not sure if it totally meets my requirements. It's the Sony DCR-SR45 30GB Handycam

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Newbie needs help picking out a camcorder!!!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates