Web Hosting, Design, & Coding forum

General discussion

new to web design

by CommandoSolo / July 27, 2007 9:30 AM PDT

I'm just getting into web design and I just wanted to know a few things.

First off is there anything that I should definitely avoid putting into my site. Secondly what really are the determining factors between whether a site is considered non-professional or professional?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: new to web design
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: new to web design
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Alright
by Sovereign Forum moderator / July 27, 2007 12:16 PM PDT
In reply to: new to web design
First off is there anything that I should definitely avoid putting into my site.

Well, it honestly really depends on what the website is for (advertising) and who your audience is.... if you were a music artist, you'd put a music player or background music... etc

On another note, I'd avoid using frames.