Networking & Wireless forum

General discussion

new to networking...how to connect laptop AND PC

I'm hooking up a network for someone, while I know a fair amoout about computers to work things out, I am still new to networking. THe thing is, this person has his HOME PC running on a USB WIRELESS (2wire/sbc) because the closet wall jack is upstairs.

Also, he wants his laptop to have internet access at home, so he can take it to work and home. If I am correct, he needs a router right? He has the DSL modem, and when I installed the PC/wifi card in his laptop it connected, but it says there is limited or no connect. Generally speaking, its as if two computers are trying to get connect to one DSL modem, therefore I need a router?

THanks for the help and clarification

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: new to networking...how to connect laptop AND PC
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: new to networking...how to connect laptop AND PC
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.