Computer Help forum

General discussion

New RAM and Slow PC Print Processing

by dmanyc / July 22, 2004 7:14 AM PDT

I have a Compaq Deskpro running Windows 2000 upgrade from NT and printing on a HP Deskjet 930c. As a graphic designer my computer used to be able to print very large graphics files quickly. In January I had CompUSA upgrade my RAM to 256MB and put in a FireWire card (so I could use my iPod). I am now having trouble with printing times. It takes three to four minutes for my computer to process my print request even from a one page MS Word document that I am using as a test print.

I don't know if the new RAM and the Firewire card are related to the printing problem, but these are the only things that have changed. Would anyone have any insight as to what could be slowing down my computer's processing of the print documents?

Also, my computer actually seems slower in general since I got the new RAM, which is not at all what I was expecting. Photoshop file processing is no different than before I got the extra RAM. The only difference is that now I can use my iPod.

Any thoughts would be helpfull...
vr63x@hotmail.com

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: New RAM and Slow PC Print Processing
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: New RAM and Slow PC Print Processing