Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

The CNET Lounge forum

General discussion

New e-book reader

by daltonrooney / March 19, 2006 8:26 PM PST

My new object of tech-lust:
http://www.engadget.com/2006/03/19/irex-reveals-deets-on-its-iliad-ebook-reader/

I don't know if the Buzz Out Loud crew are into e-book readers, but as a student, I'm dying to move over to an electronic reader. This one has wi-fi, a high resolution touchscreen w/ e-ink display and works with PDF, XML, HTML and other document formats (unlike the Sony reader, which requires their lame proprietary software).

This one is more than twice as expensive, though.

Does anyone out there think these things will eventually catch on? I would love to have all of my newspaper, magazine and RSS feeds to automatically be delivered to one of these someday. Add in all of my textbooks, and I'm sold!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: New e-book reader
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: New e-book reader
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.