Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

New computer can't connect to existing home wireless ntwk

by 2handsmm / August 23, 2006 1:14 PM PDT

I'm new to Windows (nontechie Mac user for 10 yrs) One issue, 3 questions: Just replaced daughter's old Dell pc with new Emachine T3506, running XPsp2 & using Linksys USB Wireless B adapter . I got everything hooked up& running EXCEPT it would not connect to our existing secured wireless network. Have spent about 6-8hrs on phone w/Linsys techsupport over 3 days and am FED UP! The equipment has only been in use about 15 mos. They've had me download new driver for the adapter twice (which was working FINE btw on her old pc), and then suggested I download new firmware for router. I tried to do that but could not unzip the files (how to? couldn't download unzip utility)-Didn't want to got that route & possibly ruin internet connection for my other 2 working computers anyway). Their last suggestion -short of buying new adapter!-was to physically hook up new computer to router to test functionality. Don't think that's nec. because I HAVE been able to get her online briefly 2x- once on Tues, once Wed.- both times on an Unsecured netwk. Connection lasts about 5 minutes then loses it, unable to re-establish.
I don't know what else to try. System came with McAfee Sec. System installed- thought that might be factor, but not sure. I was going to uninstall that anyway but wonder now if I should keep it if daughter can only go online on unsecured netwk... Any ideas? Should I break down & buy new adapter (router & 2 adapters were free from Earthlink)? Start over with whole new wireless system? Return computer? Uninstall McAfee? If anyone responds with suggestions, I need specific step by step instructions. Thanks in advance!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: New computer can't connect to existing home wireless ntwk