Storage forum

General discussion

New casing for dead Maxtor 300gb

by animina / April 3, 2008 6:25 AM PDT

Hi there, I am a pc novice and need some help choosing the correct casing for my Maxtor 320 gb hd. It's about 6 mths old and out of the blue died...it seems to be getting no power, the led light flickers but it makes no sound to indicate power is going to it.

After doing some poking around I've concluded that my options are 1)Pay Maxtor $700 to recover my data and then get my hd replaced 2) Try to fix it myself for cheap and void my warranty

I'm going with option 2 because I am PISSED at Maxtor and wouldn't trust them again with my $ or my data. Can anyone help with recommendations on cases or any other advice or possible issues that it could be? It's a Maxtor OneTouch III 320GB Hard Drive - Interface (USB 2.0) External Hard Drive.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: New casing for dead Maxtor 300gb
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: New casing for dead Maxtor 300gb
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.