Computer Newbies forum

General discussion

Network Cable Unplugged

I have wireless on my laptop. It was working fine for a few weeks and then I get this notice of "network cable unplugged". My laptop is Dell and so is my wireless card. I don't know what information you may need from me to help me out, I am new to this.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Network Cable Unplugged
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Network Cable Unplugged
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Who. . .

In reply to: Network Cable Unplugged

built this "wireless" system, you? Wireless to what? Router, another PC? Company LAN? Wi-Fi at Starbucks?

Network cable refers to a hardwired Ethernet plug/cable somewhere. Have you checked any and all "cable" connections?

Collapse -
network cable

In reply to: Who. . .

I have checked all connections and I am using a Linksys router, my wireless card is a Dell.

Collapse -
Does the wireless work?