TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Netflix streaming video quality

by Bill Osler / June 14, 2009 9:12 PM PDT

I have broadband at home (nominally 5 MB but tests usually show ~3.5 MB). Either way it's a fairly fast connection so I would expect I should be able to stream content fairly well. My stereo has a Samsung Blu-Ray player that supports Netflix streaming. I'm new to Netflix so I don't know quite what to expect regarding streaming quality.

So far the results have been spotty. When I begin a stream the system shows a series of bars that are supposed to display streaming quality. I think there are a total of 13-15 bars, and if all of them light up the stream is labeled 'HD'. When I actually DO get all the bars the picture quality is quite good. Most of the time I get about 6-7 bars. Somewhere around 5-6 bars the picture quality gets pretty bad, especially in shadowy images that are changing rapidly. The buffer they use is apparently not large enough to maintain smooth display so if I watch a '1 hour' TV show there will usually be several pauses to re-load the buffer. The pauses frequently come at the same point that broadcast TV would have a commercial so we joke about how they represent Netflix's alternative to commercials.

There are other problems. Netflix does NOT offer captioning or subtitles on English language streaming content and I have found some sound/video sync problems.

IOW, I like the idea but the implementation is a bit underwhelming. Is my experience typical for Netflix streaming?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Netflix streaming video quality
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates