Laptops forum

General discussion

Netbook help!

by hballard / August 31, 2010 12:02 AM PDT

Hello,
I am totally new to netbooks and have only had my laptop for about 1 year. I am NOT a Techinal person when it comes to computers. I can't tell you what the difference between a gigabit and a megabit is. LOL
When I have a question I have to get my kids to come and help me! It is sad I know.
But I am wanting to buy my kids Notebooks or netbooks for christmas. I have two 15 yr old boys and an 8 yr old girl. They will all get their own.
My question is can they use a netbook with a wireless printer to print school assignments.
Can I block their computer somehow so they don't get on adult websites?
and last question...i have a internet card for my laptop...will they be able to pickup that signal on their netbooks? or will i have to go to a wireless motum?

they are smart as can be on computers but I do not allow them on my computer, because it is for work not their games.
Thanks for your help!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Netbook help!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Netbook help!
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.