Thank you for being a valued part of the CNET community. As of December 1, 2020, the forums are in read-only format. In early 2021, CNET Forums will no longer be available. We are grateful for the participation and advice you have provided to one another over the years.

Thanks,

CNET Support

General discussion

needing a host

Nov 18, 2013 12:54AM PST

Hi all, would like some opinions on a reliable, easy to use and reasonably priced host. I am new to this world. Seems like I cant tell legit reviews from paid ads, there are so many out there when I google search. Want a simple site, that offers email and mobile also with an easy to use website builder. Any recommendswould be greatly apreciated

Discussion is locked

- Collapse -
Bear in mind
Nov 18, 2013 12:59AM PST

That so far, mostly spammers and re-sellers show up on such posts.

I'm interested in your easy to use question. That is, as a web master wouldn't you be adept at running Apache and such?
Bob

- Collapse -
to bear
Nov 18, 2013 1:04AM PST

I am helping my daughter who wants to open a site for simple community stuff, we are not pros

- Collapse -
Then use a provider with tools.
Nov 18, 2013 1:09AM PST

GoDaddy is often maligned but they and others provide tools and site builders for those that don't want to become a web master, programmer or don't want to employ such a person.

Again, almost all the replies with offers to host invariably are spam. But you should by now know the usual players and costs involved.

-> Why not use a Facebook account for this and skip a web service entirely?
Bob

- Collapse -
Bob
Nov 18, 2013 1:21AM PST

I thinka site would do better for what she wants to do plus for about 10 bucks a month this is a. great teaching and social skills lesson

- Collapse -
Sounds like you found it.
Nov 18, 2013 1:25AM PST

Go with the 10 bucks a month and you're done.