Computer Help forum

General discussion

Need to rebuild, but computer doesn't see CD drive

Hi. My computer was recently infested (hopelessly so, I'm afraid) with Malware. I tried various remedies, but I got on it too late or the virus/bug was too clever. I lost the use of all my USB ports and CD/RW drives.

In any case, I have routinely backed things up, so I just decided to reinstall the XP system, rather than continue to beat my head against the wall. Unfortunately, when I tried to reboot the computer with the XP drive, the unit gave me a fatal c000021a error. When I went into the safe mode, the unit did not "see" or find the CD drive>

I'd sure appreciate any help. Please bear in mind that I am a newbie and pretty illiterate, so go slowly....thanks again.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need to rebuild, but computer doesn't see CD drive
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need to rebuild, but computer doesn't see CD drive
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.