Windows 7 forum

Question

Need to instigate a windows blue screen of death

by VictorMa8 / October 20, 2011 7:50 AM PDT

Professor has asked us to instigate a blue screen of death using C code in windows. I am a new student to programming, and cant figure this out... I guess I need to write something in cmd promnt mode that divides by zero? She said she could do it with four lines of code, and that in a unix machine it would cause a core dump... help Wink

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need to instigate a windows blue screen of death
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need to instigate a windows blue screen of death
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.

All Answers

Collapse -
Answer
Actually it's ONE line of code.
by R. Proffitt Forum moderator / October 20, 2011 8:06 AM PDT
Collapse -
Yes,
by VictorMa8 / October 20, 2011 12:12 PM PDT

Thank you,

Though she wants us to instigate the BSOD by causing a memory management issue?

Collapse -
Memory Management