Computer Help forum

General discussion

Need more RAM.

Windows XP, Dell OptiPlex GX110, RAM 256MB

Do I need a 2nd Internal Hard Drive and , if so, how large and what brand? I was told to get 7200RPM and 8MB of Cache, but I don't know how much memory I should get.

Also, is it ever feasable to completely replace the existing 256MB with ONE larger Internal Hard Drive instead of having TWO smaller Internal Hard Drives.

As you can see, I am new to all this.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need more RAM.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need more RAM.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
You Appear Confused...

In reply to: Need more RAM.

A "hard drive" and "RAM" are two totally different things..