General discussion

Need help with sata install...

Its my first build in awhile and im looking for some help. I got an asus mobo with an onboard sis 180 controller and a samsung 120gb sp1213c sata hdd. i plan on it being the only hdd. Anyway, i tried to have cmos autodetect the drive like the install instructions said but that failed. Continued to the sata menu where it did detect the drive there. However when i continued to try and install xp on the drive it said no hd was detected. Thats a quick summary of where im at now and im at a loss. Its been some time since doing something like this, so any help on what im forgetting is much appreciated.

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Need help with sata install...
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Need help with sata install...
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
It's that XP does not