Cameras forum

General discussion

Need help with choosing a camera

by abrilg2432 / January 7, 2010 10:29 AM PST

I am an amateur when it comes to photography but I would like to pursue it more. I am looking for a camera that is great for still shots, I don't care too much about video recording, and I really want it (and this is at the top my list) to capture all the colors since I mainly take scenic shots. I also want it to have a high resolution and zoom. Since I am an amateur I need it to easily shoot and not be too sensitive to the tiniest bit of movement, If I am taking a pick of a bird for example, and the bird suddenly opens it's wings I want the camera to capture that and not get blurry. I heard about slow shutter, I am not quite sure about it but a friend recommended that I get a camera with that. Now I need a camera that is really durable and doesn't easily break. I live in a small town so it would be pretty difficult to find someone nearby to fix it. Price isn't too much of an issue I'll save up all year if I have to, but it would be nice if the price range wasn't over $850. Does anyone have any recommendations?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need help with choosing a camera
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need help with choosing a camera