PC Hardware forum

General discussion

Need help installing Sony CRX230AE CD-R/RW Driver

Need help installing Sony CRX230AE CD-R/RW Driver

I am a novice. I bought a Sony CRX230AE CD-R/RW driver and installed it onto my Compaq Presario PC (XP Home) and the computer will not recognize it or the DVD drive already there. It is as if they aren't there. Is there something simple I did wrong? Please help.....

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Need help installing Sony CRX230AE CD-R/RW Driver
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Need help installing Sony CRX230AE CD-R/RW Driver
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Need more info on how you installed it.

In reply to: Need help installing Sony CRX230AE CD-R/RW Driver

Did you connect it on it's own cable or on a cable already used by another drive?
If on the same cable as an existing drive you need to set it as a slave device. Jumper settings are marked on the drive.