Computer Help forum

General discussion

Need help diagnosing Acer Aspire 1640 issue

Acer System Aspire 1640 laptop
Intel Pentium M processor 1.60 GHz
1.99GB Ram
Dual core
Running Win XP

I've been using this laptop heavily since I bought it a few years ago and it never had an issue other than the original hard drive threatening to fail last year, which I resolved by replacing it with a new one.

However, a few months ago, I noticed that it wouldn't hold a wifi connection solidly where it had before, even up to the weeks previous. I could no longer upload files like video to video sites, and IM programs would sign out whenever the connection would 'stutter' and sign back on.

My old desktop with a wireless adaptor that wasn't nearly as good as the built in wifi of the laptop will hold the same connection with no problem at all, so I deduced that the issue was with the laptop itself.

Also, sometimes when I went to put the laptop into hibernate or standby, it simply wouldn't shut down power, and sometimes it did this even when trying to completely shut down the system. Pushing the power button always works, however.

Then, it started having trouble loading WinXP....it would open to the Acer screen, but it would hang there. Hitting the power button and trying again would make it start over and eventually it would load, but sometimes it took several tries. Usually no more than three tries would do it.

One day, after having trouble loading, the new hardware wizard came on and it looked to be installing the processor(s). That was a little scary.

So, in order to see if the issue was hardware or software related, I cloned the hard drive to a secondary location and returned the laptop to factory specs.

Well, it's still doing these things, other than the new hardware wizard coming up by itself, so I'm thinking it's a hardware issue, but I really don't know what I need to replace.

Any help would be welcomed and appreciated.

Thanks.

Discussion is locked