TVs & Home Theaters forum

General discussion

Need help choosing the right receiver

by joluar2 / December 13, 2006 1:55 PM PST

Hey Guys, I am a novice when it comes hdmi receivers, so please excuse my confusion if any. I want to buy a receiver where I will get the best picture and audio out of my panasonic plasma, the model number is TH-50PX60U.

I will be purchasing a dvd player that converts regular dvds to 720p or 1080i. I will be getting a hd box from dishnetwork that I want to connect to the receiver. and finally I will be connecting my xbox to the receiver.

Now this is where i confuse myself so I hope you guys can help me out. do I need to connect all 3 devices through the hdmi inputs and run one hdmi cable out to my tv to get hd quality picture and have surround sound? Or is it possible to connect the dishnetwork box and dvd player through the hdmi inputs and run one hdmi cable out to the tv, and connect my xbox through one of the component inputs on the receiver and still get audio on my xbox?

The reason I ask about the audio for the xbox is because I don't think the panasonic has a optical output or a coaxil output to get audio on the xbox. so if I did hookup my xbox through one of the component inputs to the receiver would I still get audio?

So, this brings me to ask you guys this question, do I need a receiver with at least 3 hdmi inputs to meet my needs or can I get away with 2 hdmi inputs?

RIght now these are the receivers I'm looking into. Pioneer VSX-84TXSi, pioneer vsx-82txs, yamaha rx-v1700, yamaha v2700, or denon avr-2807.

I want the best possible picture and audio out of the receiver I chose with a limit of $1500. Which receiver would you guys recommend and why? And if you guys have any other recommendations on which receiver I should purchase I'm all ears.

Thanks you so much. Sorry If I confused anyone with my last post, I hope you all understand. Happy Holidays.

Discussion is locked