General discussion

Need HELP choosing security tools

I am a college student and about to buy a new laptop (mabey the new IBM Thinkpad T43). I am familiar with hardware and software security tools but don't know all of them out there and which ones are best. I am considering purchasing Nortan Internet Security and System Works, Webroot Spysweeper, Ghost Surf Anonymizer, and a linksys router/firewall, all complemeted with several freeware tools such as Adaware, Spybot Search & Destroy, CWShredder, Microsoft Antispware. I know there are many freeware security tools that work as anti-spyware, pop-up blockers, anti-spam, anti-virus, firewalls, etc. My questions are:
-Which ones are most effective?
-Should I use the freeware as complementary security tools to commercial (not free) ones, or as stand-alones, or vice versa?
-Which ones work best together?
-Does redundancy of freeware/commercial tools create any compatibility problems?
Overall, I want to get as secure a system as possible using Windows XP Pro, any web browser (perhaps Firefox or the new Internet explorer 7)and as many security tools necessary.

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Need HELP choosing security tools
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: Need HELP choosing security tools
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -