General discussion

Need assistabce with code

I'm trying to do a little personal experiment with changing the text in a document through JavaScript and I'm kind of lost :s. I'm not too good with JavaScript yet, only just started trying to learn a couple days ago. Here's my code:

<script type="text/javascript">

var xtc = new Array("a","b","c","d","e","f","g","h","i","j","k","l","m","n","o","p","q","r","s","t","u","v","w","x","y","z","A","B","C","D ","E","F","G","H","I","J","K","L","M","N","O","P","Q","R","S","T","U", "V","W","X","Y","Z","1","2","3","4","5","6","7","8","9","0","!","@","# ","$","%","^","&","*","(",")","-","_","+","=","[","{","]","}","|","\\" ,";",":","\"","'","/","?",">","<",",",".","~","`");

function fd() {

//using this function I'm able to write a random character from Array xtc to the document loaded

var za = xtc[Math.floor(Math.random()*90)];
return za;

}

function writeToDoc() {

//opens the document, writes the value returned in fd(), and then closes the file

var fso = new ActiveXObject("Scripting.FileSystemObject");
var fh = fso.CreateTextFile(document.getElementById('txtfile').value, true);

fh.WriteLine(fd());
fh.Close();

}

</script>
<!--finds the file, and then once selected, writeToDoc() is performed, writing to the document-->
<input type="file" onChange="writeToDoc(this)" id="txtfile" value="#" />

What I want to do is make it so I can replace a character in the document, such as the letter "a",for as many times as it occurs, for a random character from the array, and do that for each character found (like replacing "a" for "t", "b" for "4", so on and so forth). Is this possible without changing my script completely or making it too long?

Discussion is locked

Follow
Reply to: Need assistabce with code