General discussion

My turntable is just not loud enough.

by stevensimon10482 / July 22, 2005 3:16 AM PDT

I'm no expert . . . so here goes.

I have the following mix/match system that I've scrapped together:

Pioneer PD201 CD Player
Sony STR DE183 High Power Amp/Tuner
Technics SL B10 Turntable

When I initially connected my turntable to the amplifier, the sound was basically not amplified at all, so I had to connect a pre-amp to the turntable and then run that through the amplifier.

I disconnected the system the other day and moved it, and when I put it back together, it was as though there was no pre-amp attached, though I've configured it the same.

I'm running the turntable into "in" on the pre-amp, the "out" preamp into the "in" on Video 1 (auxilliary, basically) on my amplifier. It's very quiet compared to my CD player. And of course the more I turn it up the more it hums, which I guess is a different issue. (What should I be connecting the groundwire to to reduce the hum? Right now it's hooked to an amp screw.)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: My turntable is just not loud enough.
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: My turntable is just not loud enough.
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.