Mac OS forum

Question

my mini mac crashed during encrypting my hd using file vault

by mightyzorlac / February 1, 2014 4:08 AM PST

Bear with me I'm a newbie guys. I decided to encrypt my minimac with file vault 2 and halfway through the encrypting my mini mac crashed and reset itself.

It will not start up now and just displays a grey screen with a folder and a question mark.

I have run the mac disk utility first aid but it cant fix it when i boot into recovery mode. I bought disk warrior 4.4 thinking it could help. It just sees a locked drive so it can't fix it.

How do I unlock or turn off the encryption in order for me to run disk warrior and fix my drive?

Is their such a thing as typing a command into the terminal in recovery mode that will turn off the encryption?

Are there any other options to recover my files and programs that will restore my mac it to its previous state?I can see all the files and programs are still their on the drive in recovery mode.

I'm running Mavericks OS . Hoping anyone can help please?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: my mini mac crashed during encrypting my hd using file vault
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: my mini mac crashed during encrypting my hd using file vault
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.