Computer Help forum

Question

My laptop logs off/shuts down when connected to Internet

by Lilmwell / April 30, 2013 11:48 AM PDT

I have a HP g6 laptop. It's almost 2 years old and when/only it's connected to the wifi or even the cable Internet it logs off and shuts down after about 30seconds. If wifi is turned off or its not plugged into internet cable it stays on no problem. If its a issue with the driver How can I attempt to fix this without having to download something (like a driver) off the Internet since I am unable to connect!? Also it does the same thing when in safe mode if connected to Internet so there goes that solution? I've also did a whole system restore to factory settings and that didn't help. I'm a desperate college student with finals coming up please help.

Answer This Ask For Clarification
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: My laptop logs off/shuts down when connected to Internet
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: My laptop logs off/shuts down when connected to Internet
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.