Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Mozilla Firefox

by Grizzly / November 25, 2004 9:43 PM PST

I cannot get any sound from any website. Have tried everything, even that little box that says I need a plug in. I like it othwerwise, but untill I can get sound will stay with IE, which I have NO problems with.
I also use their e-mail program Thunderbird, which to me is excellant, far better that OE

Discussion is locked
Collapse -
Re: Mozilla Firefox
by P_R_Smith / November 25, 2004 11:31 PM PST
In reply to: Mozilla Firefox

I run WinXP pro at home and at work, where I am a Network Administrator (and Desktop Tech in my spare time). I do not use Enternet Explorer (except when Active X controls are needed) or Outlook Express. We remove all Outlook icons from the users? p/c?s. I use Mozilla Firefox as my browser of choice on all my machines and recommend it highly.

I have downloaded Adaware and Spybot Search and Destroy from http://www.download.com , both free (donations accepted), and run the updates and the programs weekly. I am on a LAN at work and have a bi-directional cable connection at home. At work we have McAfee virus protection as well as a firewall, and at home I run Norton on my system and Panda on my wife?s Win98 machine, both with firewalls. When my Norton subscription runs out I will probably switch to either Panda or Trend Micro.

I hope this helps.

Collapse -
by isotla / November 26, 2004 12:53 AM PST

I have no idea why "Smith" above posted what he/she did, since it had nothing to do with sound.