Computer Help forum

Resolved Question

Moving Computer Hardware to New Case

by Austin4606 / December 7, 2014 3:55 PM PST

This upcoming Christmas i want to buy a new graphics card for my Acer Aspire X3950. But i believe its case is too small for the graphics card & even if it does fit i don't think it will get good airflow and it will probably be very cramped.

Due to this i'd like to move my entire motherboard & everything with it to a new case that i MIGHT buy. My parents have a old old oldddd case i could use. I dunno yet though... i'm not even sure if i can MOVE my motherboard at all.

<div>But since this is my first time attempting to even move computer components i thought i should get some help & see if it's even a good idea. The card i want to get is a Zotac GeForce GTX 970 4GB Video Card and it's

7.99" (203mm).</div>
Here are some photos of the computer:
Photo 1
Photo 2

My primary question is can i even take the entire computer components out & move it to another case, do i need to replace any cables,psu's etc and if i could move the hardware what case should i use?

I'd also like to mention i'm HOPING to get around $400 this Christmas. Probably will get $300 though.

And finally, here are the specs if you're too lazy to look them up.

--------------------

<span id="INSERTION_MARKER">intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU 540 @ 3.07GHz, 3067 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
<span>

<span>4GB RAM
<span>

<span>(Other crap i'm too lazy to get right now since this took 20 minutes to type)

Austin4606 has chosen the best answer to their question. View answer
Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Moving Computer Hardware to New Case
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates