Windows Legacy OS forum

General discussion

Modem connection loss (Important!)

by TheAnt317 / August 31, 2010 7:23 AM PDT

Hello. I've been using ZoneAlarm Firewall for over 6 years and Avira AntiVir for about a year and only now I may be having a serious problem with them.

Whenever I try to upload files to ANYTHING, such as YouTube or MediaFire or any website or anything that involves an upstream, eventually the connection on my modem will suddenly cut out and have to re-connect. Also, I've noticed when trying to play games on WiFi, after a while I'll suddenly get an error message that I've been disconnected from the network.

Both of these things have only started happening about a month ago, and it's getting to be quite frustrating. I'm not 100% sure that the firewall or antivirus is the problem, but most of the time when I shut them both off/disable them, my uploads go just fine, but sometimes the modem disconnections persist.

Is there anything I can do about this? Any help is very much appreciated. Thank you!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Modem connection loss (Important!)
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Modem connection loss (Important!)
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.