Attention: The forums will be placed on read only mode this Saturday (Oct. 20, 2018)

During this outage (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT) the forums will be placed on read only mode. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Video Cameras forum

General discussion

MiniDV camcorder

by Woodeen / April 1, 2006 9:53 PM PST

Hi,
I intend to buy one camcorder. As I know that MiniDV can offer the best quality among Standard Definition Camcorders nowadays then I intend to buy one MiniDV camcorder. However, I would like to get your reply for the followings (as I'm quite new to camcorders):
1- What is the format of the file if I transfer from MiniDV to my computer? Do I need a capture card? My computer is running on Windows XP, 1024 MB RAM, 80GB HDD
2- Assumed it's a 3.3MP camcorder and my recording is in 16:9 aspect ratio, Can I get the HD quality of my recording (1920 x 1080 = 2,073,600 (less than 3MP) if directly playback in HDTV. If not, what is the resolution of my recording (supposing my camcorder is set at maximum resolution)
Thank you very mush for your kind reply!
Best regards
Hoang Cong Thanh (hcongthanh@yahoo.com)

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: MiniDV camcorder
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: MiniDV camcorder
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.