HolidayBuyer's Guide

Laptops forum

General discussion

Medion Laptops??

by chaos598-20591443419206562473357205651461 / May 16, 2005 3:56 AM PDT

Does anyone own or have any recommendations about Medion laptops? I'm looking into buying a laptop when i go back to school and I've narrowed it down to 4 choices:

1. Apple iBook (12'' version): I'm doubtful about getting one because I'm an engineer and don't know if it'll run everything I need. About 1200 with Apple care etc.

2. ACER: acer 1681WLCI-XPH NoteBook Pentium M 1.5GHz 15.4'' WXGA 512MB DDR333 80GB DVD/CD-RW Combo Intel Extreme Graphics 2 - $1000 with ACER extended warranty. Best bang for buck, but its a lot heavier than the others at 6.5 pounds.

3. Medion: Akoya LS 1.6GHz Pentium M, 512MB DDR, 60 GB HD, DVD/CDRW, 4.4 pounds, 3 in 1 card reader, 12.1'' display. $1100

4. ABS: ABS C4 ABS C4 NoteBook Pentium M 1.6GHz(725) 12.1'' WXGA 512MB DDR333 60GB 5400rpm DVD/CD-RW Combo Intel Extreme Graphics 2 - $1200. 4.4 pounds.

Any suggestions, comments or reccomendations are appreciated. IF anyone wants to suggest any other options feel free as well.. budget is around 1200-1300.

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Medion Laptops??
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Medion Laptops??
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.