Spyware, Viruses, & Security forum

General discussion

me_cute.JPEG virus!

by champry / November 10, 2008 7:03 PM PST

hi, i'm a student at a collegge. it seems to me that my entire collegge and the other students' laptops are infected with a virus called me_cute.JPEG. it is in a format of jpeg so most of the antivirus cannot detect it! i scanned it using kaspersky 2007 and it works, but only a mater of time when my antivirus decided that it is not a virus! OMG! i tried using many software and even malwarebytes but failed...i even tried to delete all the registry key about me_cute and in the prefetch folder but still my laptop will always goes blank every time i reboot my laptop. i can only see the desktop when i use task manager. the symptoms are almost the same with kittykat.it started when a pendrive was double clicked and it activate the me_cute....when the pc or laptop was infected, the other innocent pendrive that plug into it will also get infected and only be cleaned after being formated using other pc tat are not infected... at this moment, the best way to not getting infected is using explorer and show all the hidden folders so we can delete the me_cute and the autorun.inf manually...so, can you help me? im using c700 compaq presario...

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: me_cute.JPEG virus!
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: me_cute.JPEG virus!