Mac OS forum

General discussion

Mac just for fun: what do I need?

by Claptrap / February 13, 2006 8:38 AM PST

I did a course a few years ago in my local college art department, which was offered only in Mac. At the time I was a novice computer user, but I found Win98 so much easier to use compared to Mac. During most of the course, I wasted my time trying to get my head around the operating system, so I thought maybe I should get a second-hand Mac, just so I can keep up with the actual course I might take in the future. What is the lowest spec of hardware and oldest OS I could buy, to be able to keep up using the latest OS? (What version/name is it anyway?) I have heard each version of OS is totally different from the previous one, is that so? If that is the case, how do Mac users cope?

The art department gets most money, and therefore has always the latest hard and software; but one of the teachers said the latest OS is not as user-friendly as the one before, what is your opinion?

Practically all of my software is free; either installed from magazine disks (usually older versions of the software) but increasingly I use free open source software, like OpenOffice. Are there any free software for Macs, preferably downloadable? I can still buy software in main stream shops, that will run in old machines like my Pentium II - what is the situation with Mac?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Mac just for fun: what do I need?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates