Tablets forum

Question

Looking for my first tablet, any suggestions?

by Theodrick / January 28, 2014 4:49 AM PST

I'm new to the tablet world. a rundown of what im looking for.

1. What is your budget?
600 and below
2. Would you consider purchasing used/refurbished?yes

3. Do you prefer a media/mobile tablet like the iPad, Windows tablet PC, or notebook convertible?
I pad, or an tablet with detachable keyboard
4. What size Tablet PC would you prefer?

5 to7-inches
7.1 to 10 - inches 9+
10 to 13 - inches yes
Above 13 - inches yes

5. Which country do you intent to purchase from [where do you live]?
USA, or any if shipping is reasonable
6. Do you have any preferences to brand loyalty or dislikes?
I'm comfortable with Android, but have no preference
7. How many hours battery life do you require?
6- more
8. What will be the primary usage scenario of this tablet? (Email/Web Surfing/Drawing/Word Processing/Entertainment/Notetaking etc)
Email, Web surfing, Bible reading in Church, playing violin with sheet music. Note taking while in Church, or in violin lessons.
9. Do you have an OS preference? For example, do you own an iPhone and a Mac, or are you a Windows fan? Do you own an Android device and use Google services frequently?
Google services, I have a windows desktop.
10. What software and tasks do you intend to run? (Microsoft Office or other Word Processing Suite/Photoshop/3D Studio Max/Autocad etc)
I would really like to read the bible on one side of the screen and take notes either in the Bible, or on the other side of the screen, same goes for my violin lessons. Would like to be able to read sheet music on screen.
11. Do you intend on playing Games? If so please list. Rarely.

12. Would you like to stream content through your home theater system?
Yes, I would like ideas on how to put the information on my flat-screen, which is not wireless.
Screen Specifics

1. Any preference on screen resolution? Readable.