Mac Hardware forum

General discussion

Looking for a way to keep my software and partition my HD

by mcarr1973 / November 7, 2008 10:35 AM PST

Hello,

This question might sound dumb but Im new to how External Hard drives work. So hopefully someone can ansewer a question for me:

If I set up an external hard drive for my mac, Can I put and run software on it?

The reason Im asking is because I would like to partition my mac with osx 10.4 and osx 10.5 and to do this I would have to reformat (erase to factory settings) my mac. If I do this I will lose all of my software.

So Im hoping if I use an external hard drive, I can copy all my software to it. Then partition my mac, and then send all my software back to my mac.

Does anyone know if something like this will work? or have any other suggestions?

I have a lot of third party software on my computer that I cant get again, they are all in my applications folder sooo I was hoping to copy the contents to the external HD then put it back.

Will the software still work?

Thank You,
Sincerely,
Michael

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Looking for a way to keep my software and partition my HD
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Looking for a way to keep my software and partition my HD
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.