HolidayBuyer's Guide

Laptops forum

General discussion

Looking at a few laptop choices...wanting some opinions

by tggroo7 / November 28, 2009 2:33 AM PST

So I have these laptops I have kinda narrowed it down to:

HP G60-440us Notebook PC - Intel Pentium Dual-Core T4300 2.1GHz, 3GB DDR2, 320GB HDD, DVDRW, 16"
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=4824087&CatId=4942

SONY VAIO NW Series VGN-NW228F/B NoteBook Intel Pentium dual-core T4300(2.10GHz) 15.5" 4GB Memory DDR2 800 250GB HDD 5400rpm
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834117950

Gateway MC7833u NoteBook Intel Core 2 Duo T6400(2.00GHz) 16" XGA 4GB Memory DDR2 667 500GB HDD 5400rpm.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834101198R

I'm looking for some help in finding/explaining the main differences. The Gateway has the better processor, right? Or are they pretty similar? I'm not very experienced with laptops so I would like some information or opinions on the differences among the brands, like I've always thought of Sony as a little above the rest as far as a reliable, quality brand for a laptop. I don't know much about Gateway laptops.

The laptop will not need a lot of space as there won't be much media or programs on it. It is mostly going to be a basic use computer, but it should be decently fast.

And yes, I just noticed that two of these laptops aren't even available considering it is the day after black Friday, but I still would like to see some responses to educate myself a little more.

Thanks!

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Looking at a few laptop choices...wanting some opinions
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates