Attention: The forums are currently placed on Read Only.

Thank you for visiting the CNET forums. Our site is currently undergoing some maintenance. During this period (6:30 AM to 8 PM PDT,) you can read the forums content, however posting in the forum will not be available. We apologize for this inconvenience. Click here to read details

Windows Vista forum

General discussion

Long running Vista and Zone Alarm Problems

by mankeb / January 29, 2009 4:58 AM PST

I have had a series of issues with Zone Alarm and Vista since Nov 2008.

I usually leave my PC on 24x7 as it acts as a media server. I had been running a new PC since Jan 2008 and in November started having Internet connectivity issues. I will have programs open that get Internet data and they will just appear to hang.

Whenever I try to launch something when this happens (Firefox, IE, etc.) I get a error message box saying, "Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access them."
If I try to launch task manager (Ctrl-Alt-Del), I get a message box with the title "Logon process has failed to create the security options dialog" and the message within saying "Failure-Security options".

During the crash state I can right click items in my tray, I have Interent access via other PCs on my network so my Router and Modem are OK. I can access the start menu and click shutdown but this works only some of the time.

If I right click Zone Alarm in the tray and CLOSE it, I sudddenly get access to all my programs without the error messages and can connect to the internet again. I can then reopen ZA and things run fine for several hours until the same thing happens again. This has happened daily for over two months.

My other option is to press the hardware reset button because all other functions are locked. If I reboot, everything works for a while until the whole process starts again. This seems to mostly happen over time.