HolidayBuyer's Guide

Linux forum

General discussion

Linux for the home user?

by Howlleo / October 10, 2005 4:46 AM PDT

I'm a student, just want to try linux because I heard it

gives you more direct control of your computer,

because Windows xp has everything so dumbed-down that I feel like an idiot using it,

and because I want to intro myself to some programming, and I understand that Linux has commands and requires a little more nerdy hands-on stuff.

So which Linux version is for the newby-home-user who wants to learn a little about computer guts?

Discussion is locked
You are posting a reply to: Linux for the home user?
The posting of advertisements, profanity, or personal attacks is prohibited. Please refer to our CNET Forums policies for details. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Track this discussion and email me when there are updates

If you're asking for technical help, please be sure to include all your system info, including operating system, model number, and any other specifics related to the problem. Also please exercise your best judgment when posting in the forums--revealing personal information such as your e-mail address, telephone number, and address is not recommended.

You are reporting the following post: Linux for the home user?
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Collapse -
Get a general idea of the most popolar Unices
by jakem14 / October 11, 2005 9:26 AM PDT