Question

lightweight digital camera w/ slr quality + features

HI, I'm new to photography but I enjoy taking pics when I travel w/ my family ( I hv an active child so I wish I can take snap shoots of her ). I'm looking for a digital camera which is fast enough to take moving object w/ a clear n sharp images in low light condition such as inside of a theatre or nite outdoor picture or animal pics or kid.

At the moment Im using G10. But G10 I hv to use tripod if I want to take nite scenery. I want something thats easy to use, lightweight, have slr picture quality + features, fast to snap, low light, and preferably I can put it into my handbag or shoulder bag n carry it wherever I go.

some friends suggest to buy Canon S95 or Lumix GF 2.

thank you

Discussion is locked
Follow
Reply to: lightweight digital camera w/ slr quality + features
PLEASE NOTE: Do not post advertisements, offensive materials, profanity, or personal attacks. Please remember to be considerate of other members. If you are new to the CNET Forums, please read our CNET Forums FAQ. All submitted content is subject to our Terms of Use.
Reporting: lightweight digital camera w/ slr quality + features
This post has been flagged and will be reviewed by our staff. Thank you for helping us maintain CNET's great community.
Sorry, there was a problem flagging this post. Please try again now or at a later time.
If you believe this post is offensive or violates the CNET Forums' Usage policies, you can report it below (this will not automatically remove the post). Once reported, our moderators will be notified and the post will be reviewed.
Comments
- Collapse -
Answer
No Substitute

The S95 would be not much better than your Canon G10. The GF2 would definitely be a step up. The new Panasonic G3 would be even better; it is receiving stellar reviews. You would need a large handbag for either the GF2 or G3 though, because unlike compact cameras, the lens does not retract into the body.

- Collapse -