Mac OS forum

General discussion

Libraries in OSX - How to use or not use??

by aphovel63 / November 2, 2009 12:11 AM PST

Hello all,

I am a novice in system issues, with a limited technical vocabulary, so please have mercy?? Wink Sorry if this message is lengthy.

Am trying to understand why, lately, I have to use install DVD 1 for minor boot disk repairs on my Intel iMac (late 2006-17" - OSX 10.4.11) almost every week. And why, when I right~click on a file to open it, all applications are proposed twice. Makes the list sort of long!
Not knowing what to look for I first thought I might have missed a firmware update. My computer says I'm up to date with EFI 1.2. I make all updates proposed by system as soon as they appear, and regularly use Onyx for privileges repairs, particularly before and after DLs, use Automation weekly, etc. (But I still haven't found out what precise iMac the EFI 1.3 is intended for).

After scavenging heaps of forum threads and seen remarks saying that Library is to be used with great caution, I wonder if that's the problem. But can find absolutely no/nada detailed explanation concerning OSX Libraries in my litterature (the usual "missing manuals) nor on-line (Apple-site, forums, CNET).?

I did realize that the MacIntosh HD Library was something to avoid tampering with.

But so far, I thought the User ("little house") Library was my own set of private bookshelves. I.e.

- User>>Library>>Receipts file: contains all .dmg, .pkg and zip files for all software, Apple and not Apple, in successive versions, that are installed on computer. Plus a couple of .dmg's for Tiger that I haven't installed but kept in case they should become difficult to find.
This Receipts file now weighs 8.4 Go.